Back to Business

This abbreviated week has been about getting back on track at work and in my daily routine.  The jet lag has really stayed with me and thrown my schedule off for most of the week.  Up at 4:30 or 5:00 am and ready for sleep at 8:00 pm.  That seems to be slowly fading.  One person at work reluctantly said that jet lag is harder to get over as we get older – wait a minute! I heard that.  I am not old.

As I plunged into my pile of email earlier this week and weeded through the interesting stuff and the non interesting stuff – this one fell into the interesting pile. 

Part of the sustainable efforts that we promote in architecture, also deals with employee health.  LEED credits can be awarded to a project for promoting the health of their employees.  Here is an innovative idea that seems to be catching on.  A desk that doubles as a  walk station (click for a great article in the New York Times with all the details).

I think it is a great idea and I for one would love to get out of the stairwell and legitimately walk and work.  I am not sure I could use it for any kind of conference call.  Sure I know how to use the mute button, but when I need to interject a comment can you imagine the breathlessness and how would it be perceived.

I guess the main question is are you one of the coordinated people that could use such a device or just another worker’s compensation claim waiting to happen?  I really like the device and think I am coordinated to use such a device.  After all, I can walk and chew gum at the same time.

~K

Leave a Reply

